Monoswezi - The Village (2013)

Village, Monoswezi’s debut album, is a collection of rearranged Zimbabwean traditional songs blended with a cool Nordic edge. With members hailing from Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Norway and Sweden the boundary-crossing band’s sound is entirely unique. Articulated mbira rings out atop colourful woodwind and the gentle rhythm section.

01 Hondo (music trad, words Hope Masike)
02 Ndinewe (Hope Masike)
03 Kuenda Mbire (trad, arr Hope Masike/Monoswezi)
04 Mapfunde (trad/Hope Masike)
05 Kalahari (Hallvard Godal)
06 Heya! (Hope Masike)
07 Nhemamsasa (trad, arr Hope Masike/Monoswezi)
08 Xitimela (João Cabaço, arr Monoswezi)
09 Matue Tue (trad/Calu Tsemane, arr Calu Tsemane)
10 Metal Drum (Calu Tsemane, arr Monoswezi)
Hope Masike - vocals, mbira;
Calu Tsemane - vocals, percussion;
Hallvard Godal - saxophone, clarinet;
Putte Johander - bass;
Erik Nylander - drums, percussion.

03.04.2013 | by raul f. curvelo | Ethnic Jazz., Monoswezi, World Fusion, world music, zimbabwe